Program and SOM Representation

Updated 4/1/17

Program Representatives

Our student program representatives are integral to well functioning communication lines between the GSA and the student body. The program representatives both convey concerns to the GSA executive board that can be addressed internally or brought up with the school administration and disseminate information about the GSA and any decisions the school administration makes to the students in their programs.

Program representatives are required to email the GSA general body meeting minutes to their programs. It is encouraged that representatives pick events or topics brought up at the meeting that are especially relevant to their program. Student program representatives will have viewing access to all executive board materials, including: the GSA budget, executive board meeting minutes, travel award decisions, student group funding requests/decisions, contact lists, and important documents (i.e. the Constitution). The executive board shall hold two feedback sessions every year for program representatives to voice their concerns and suggestions for any number of things, e.g. better communication, new social events, new extracurricular education programming ideas, etc.

Student Program Representatives
Department Representative Email
Art as Applied to Medicine Shawna Snyder ssnydernp11@gmail.com
Biochemistry, Cellular and Molecular Biology (BCMB) Jonathan Augustin jaugust7@jhmi.edu
Biological Chemistry David Zhan davidzhan@jhmi.edu
Biomedical Engineering (BME) Makeda Stephenson mstephenson@jhmi.edu
Cellular and Molecular Medicine (CMM) Joelle Dorskind jdorski1@jhmi.edu
Cellular and Molecular Physiology Pingdewinde Sam psam1@jhmi.edu
Functional Anatomy and Evolution Deanna Goldstein dgolds14@jhmi.edu
Health Sciences Informatics Bowen Li bowenli@jhu.edu
History of Medicine James Flowers jflower6@jhmi.edu
Human Genetics & Molecular Biology Benjamin Bell ben.bell12@gmail.com
Immunology Rachel Helms
and Brandom Lam
rhelms1@jhu.edu,
blam4@jhmi.edu
Neuroscience Purnima Padmanabhan purnima1406@gmail.com
Pathobiology Swathi Karthikeyan
and Yea Ji Jeong
skarthi2@jhmi.edu,
yjeong10@jhmi.edu
Pharmacology and Molecular Sciences August Li glycobio@jhmi.edu
Program in Molecular Biophysics Lauren Que lque2@jhmi.edu

SOM Committee Representatives

Besides the internal GSA Committees, the GSA provides representation for the graduate student body at multiple levels of the Johns Hopkins University institutions. These committees are an important way to convey students’ concerns and are a great opportunity for current students to gain experience. If you have a question that pertains to a committee, you may reach out to the student representative. If any position is open, we encourage you to contact the GSA President about the position.

Committee Representatives
Committee Representative Email
Graduation Representative Ashley Cook ashley.cook@jhmi.edu
MA/PhD Committee 1st Year Miriam Akeju makeju1@jhmi.edu
MA/PhD Committee 2nd Year Kyle Cavagnini kcavagn2@jhu.edu
Safety Representitve Jesse Yoder jbyoder@jhu.edu
Student Health Committee Cathy Guerra cguerra2@jhmi.edu
Faculty Senate Representative Ashley Cook ashley.cook@jhmi.edu
PDCO Student Group Committee Chang-Ting Lin clin104@jhmi.edu
Welch Library Advisory Council Adler Archer adler@jhu.edu
Student Assistance Program (SAP) Monika Looney mlooney2@jhmi.edu
Doctor of Philosophy Board Emmanuel Datan edatan1@jhmi.edu
Institue for Excellence in Education Board (IEE) James Flowers jflower6@jhmi.edu
Alumni Representative Yinan Liu shuihuapaopao94@gmail.com
Office of Student Diversity Position Open N/A
Office of Cultural Affairs Board Position Open N/A