Program and SOM Representation

SOM Committees

Besides the internal GSA Committees, the GSA provides representation for the graduate student body at multiple levels of the Johns Hopkins University institutions. These committees are an important way to convey students’ concerns and are a great opportunity for current students to gain experience. If you have a question that pertains to a committee, you may reach out to the student representative. If any position is open, we encourage you to contact the President, Kyle Cavagnini (kcavagn2@jhmi.edu) about the position.

Committee Representatives
Committee Representative Email
Graduation Representative

Kyle Cavagnini

kcavagn2@jhu.edu
International Representative Rahul Agarwal rahul.jhu@gmail.com
MA/PhD Committee

Miriam Akeju, 

Kaiti Wood

makeju1@jhmi.edu

PDCO Student Group Committee

Katie Marshall

kmarsh17@jhmi.edu

Student Health Committee

Mary Soliman, 

Maria del Carmen Vitery

msolima5@jhmi.edu, 

mvitery1@jhu.edu

Faculty Senate Representative

Ashley Stewart

astewa51@jhmi.edu

Career Series Chair Kaya Zelazny kzelazn1@jhmi.edu
Welch Library Advisory Council

Chirag Vasavda

cvasavda@jhmi.edu

Student Assistance Program (SAP)

Monika Looney

mlooney2@jhmi.edu

Office of Student Diversity Position Open N/A
Office of Cultural Affairs Board Position Open N/A
Doctor of Philosophy Board Position Open N/A

Program Representatives

Student program representatives are integral to well functioning communication lines between the GSA and the student body. The student program representatives both convey concerns to the GSA executive board that can be addressed internally or brought up with the school administration and disseminate information about the GSA and any decisions the school administration makes to the students in their programs.
Student program representatives are required to email their program the GSA general body meeting minutes. It is encouraged that representatives pick events or topics brought up at the meeting that are especially relevant to their program. Student program representatives will have viewing access to all executive board materials, including: the GSA budget, executive board meeting minutes, travel award decisions, student group funding requests/decisions, contact lists, and important documents (i.e. the Constitution). The executive board shall hold two feedback sessions every year for program representatives to voice their concerns and suggestions for any number of things, e.g. better communication, new social events, new extracurricular education programming ideas, etc.

Program Representatives
Department Representative Email
Art as Applied to Medicine

Alisa Brandt

abrandt7@jhmi.edu 

Biochemistry, Cellular and Molecular Biology (BCMB)

Jonathan Augustin

jaugust7@jhmi.edu

Biological Chemistry David Zhan huiwangzhan@gmail.com
Biomedical Engineering (BME) Makeda Stephenson mstephenson@jhmi.edu
Cellular and Molecular Medicine (CMM) Joelle Dorskind jdorski1@jhmi.edu
Cellular and Molecular Physiology

James Osei-Owusu

joseiow1@jhu.edu

Functional Anatomy and Evolution

Aneila Hogan

ahogan7@jhmi.edu

Health Sciences Informatics
History of Medicine James Flowers jflower6@jhmi.edu
Human Genetics & Molecular Biology

Elizabeth Partan, Heather Wick

epartan1@jhmi.edu, hwick1@jhmi.edu

Immunology

Brandom Lam and Alana MacDonald

amacdo10@jhmi.edu; blam4@jhmi.edu

Neuroscience

Jarred Hinkle

jhinkle4@jhmi.edu

Pathobiology

Pan-am Chaisawangwong, Lionel Chia

wchaisa1@jhu.edu; lchia1@jhmi.edu

Pharmacology and Molecular Sciences

August Li

glycobio@jhmi.edu

Program in Molecular Biophysics Drew Morley dmorley1@jhu.edu