The GSA council, which is composed of the Executive Board and the Program Representatives, governs the GSA and votes to approve decisions of the Executive Board. The Executive Board, in charge of proposing policies, allocating funds, and making recommendations to the upper administration, consists of 8 members: President, President-Elect, Vice President of General Affairs, Vice President of Finance, Vice President of Public Relations, Vice President of Events, and Vice President of Policy and Programming, and Vice President of Diversity and Inclusion. The Program Representatives consist of one student from every department/program at the SOM.

Here is the current Executive Board for 2019-2020:

Kaitlin Wood (she/her)

Position: President
Hometown: Kelso, WA
4th year PhD candidate in Human Genetics & Molecular Biology
Lab of Dr. Susan Michaelis
Favorite thing about Baltimore? “I love the unique character of each neighborhood and the vibrant arts community in Baltimore that is so actively invested in building and celebrating the city.”

Madison James (MJ; she/her)

Position: Vice President of Public Relations
Hometown: Flower Mound, TX
2nd year PhD student in Pathobiology
Favorite thing about Baltimore? “I love Baltimore’s proximity to the water and never-ending list of amazing places to eat.”

Katie Conlon (she/her)

Position: Vice President of Events
Hometown: Corona, CA
4th year PhD candidate in Biochemistry, Cellular, and Molecular Biology
Lab of Dr. Erika Matunis
Favorite thing about Baltimore? “I like that the people who live here really have pride in their city. Also, I’m from California so seeing leaves change is actually very exciting.”